Bookmark and Share

Award Categories

Industrial companies in Washington State are eligible for nomination in one or more of the three award categories listed below. Anyone may nominate a business – employees, contractors, utilities, etc. – and a company may be nominated in more than one category. Each nomination will receive acknowledgement of their submittal. One Governor’s Award will be given in each category to the company that is deemed by the program’s selection committee as outstanding in their class. Awards will be distributed by the Governor at a recognition event scheduled for January 2015 at the State Capitol in Olympia.

Winners of the 2014 Governor’s Awards will be recognized at the 7th Annual Northwest Industrial Energy Efficiency Summit on January 14, 2015.

Leadership in Innovation

Recognizes leadership by a Washington industry that has implemented an energy project/effort in the past three years utilizing a highly innovative technolgy. Examples include: use of emerging technologies, use of existing technologies in a new way, or a unique change to a process that saves significant energy.


Leadership in Energy Performance

Recognizes leadership by a Washington industry that has achieved the greatest reduction in energy intensity during the past three years. This award focuses on an organization’s improvement in energy performance over time at a whole plant level.


Leadership by Example

Recognizes leadership by a Washington industry for sharing energy efficiency progress and knowledge with others, influencing broader awareness of energy efficiency inside and outside the organization.